Happy Birthday Kristin

One of the trade-offs to a glamorous life of field research is that sometimes you miss the important things, like your sister’s birthday. For those of you who’ve never talked to me for more than 15-seconds, let me just tell you how much I love my sister. My sister, as far as I’m concerned, is worth spamming every reader of this blog with a pre-scheduled post just so I can tell her how amazing she is and how lucky I am to be related to her.

To make this relevant to those of you who have the gross misfortune of NOT knowing my sister here are a few interesting facts about her.

My sister and I, through no particular rhyme or reason and very different life paths, are both marine biologists. She studies invertebrate physiology at CalPoly. Read about her super cool work here. She knows a lot about crabs.

My sister is the most beautiful human being I’ve ever met inside and out and the world would be a grander, more hilarious place, if everyone was ever so slightly more like here. (ok, not really a fact per se, but true none-the-less). Don’t ask her outright to tell you a joke though, that makes people uncomfortable.

My sister was an excellent childhood swimmer.  Her best stroke was butterfly.

My sister did her undergrad at Tulane University where she studied neuroscience, so she knows a lot about brains.

My sister taught me how to do a cartwheel; she promptly told me (with video evidence) that I was just ok at it. I’m much better now, thanks to her.

Happy Birthday to the woman who I miss the most when I’m away from cell service. I dedicate this beautiful whale photo to you. I cannot being to express how much I love you and miss you.

IMG_0551

It takes something this grand to keep me away from my sister, that’s how glorious she is (photo credit L. Matthews)

One thought on “Happy Birthday Kristin

Leave a Reply

